The call to Prayer

Assalamu Alaikum Waraghmatulaahi Wabarakatu.

I greet you with the universal greeting of peace.

Nine days in and Ramadan is in full swing. The greatest month of the Islamic year. A month whose beginning is Mercy, whose middle is Forgiveness and whose end is Freedom from the Fire. May we all work hard so we can gain from the Treasures of Almighty Allah… Ameen.

As Muslims we are required to pray 5 times daily. You can read more about that here. We have an early morning prayer called Fajr, mid-day prayer Dhur, afternoon prayer of Asr, evening pray of Maghrib and final evening prayer of Esha.

To signal that the time for prayer has arrived we have a call to prayer called the Athaan. The caller  responsible for delivering this call is called the Muathin. I have been pondering on the meaning of the words of this call to prayer and its significance in my life.

We pray because Allah has instructed us to do so and without it we would be lost. Prayer is my sanity, my solace and my comfort when the outside world tears me apart. It is where I can lay my worries and fears. It is where I share my hopes and dreams.

Should we not praise and worship the one that has created us and blessed us with so much even though we undeserving and unworthy?!

This call to prayer is Magnificent and we should all take a moment to reflect on its meaning and how it applies to us, our daily lives, Our Creator and Lord, and what we are prepared to give.

adhaan

The call to prayer in my understanding gives us direction, purpose and re aligns our focus. It re affirms our declaration of faith. It reminds us of our declaration as life and all its distractions can shift our focus away from our purpose, which is the worship of Allah and there in lies our ultimate success.

Our life here is for a short while and not permanent. The call to prayer focuses our attention on the ultimate reality

All goodness is from Allah. If there is any mistakes or misrepresentation in this post it is my own. It is always recommended to verify any and all information with a scholar of Deen.

Shukran for reading, until next time!

Leave a Reply

