But baby its cold outside!

Assalamu Alaikum Waraghmatulaahi Wabarakatu.

I greet you with the universal greeting of peace.

I am thankful and filled with gratitude that I have a home to call my own (well almost) 11 more years to go! It’s not the prettiest house on the block. It doesn’t have the latest and most modern and up to date decor. We open the gates and garage door with good old-fashioned elbow grease. And even though a fully fitted kitchen would be nice its no longer at the top of my to do list.  I will after all die one day and leave my yellow house behind.

It does however provide for all my needs and the needs of my loved ones. We all have a warm dry place to lay our heads down at night. We can sit around the table and have a warm meal together. I can have a hot shower after a long, stressful day and I can cook and bake to my heart’s content whenever the need arises. So no, I am no longer part of the rat race to have the nicest house and the biggest car. My glass is half full Jazakallah Ghair!

But as we move towards the cold stormy Cape winter what about those that are not as fortunate? You know those people on the street! The ones we avoid eye contact with because it’s just too uncomfortable to look at them. The men and women we politely side step at times because it’s really not our responsibility and really very inconvenient at that moment when they approach us. I have come to realize that the only thing standing between myself and the homeless is the Grace of Allah Subghana Wata Allah. It so easily could have been me!

But we can all do something. Great victories are made up of many small steps. So here’s a wonderful initiative once again. Street Sleeper.You can donate a sleeping bag to a homeless person and it wont break the bank. Can I get a WHOOP WHOOP?! Its quick and easy!

Check out their Facebook Page. Give it a like and share! It’s really such a wonder full and practical gesture. You even have the option to deliver it personally. If not it will be distributed for you. We all can do something to keep someone a little bit dryer and a little bit warmer this winter.

13221539_1740677016149397_5381779589709122119_n SS

PS. I am not in any way associated with this initiative in a formal capacity nor was I requested to do a post. Just doing my bit to spread information and help along a really amazing cause.

Shukran for reading. Until next time!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

