Back to basics

Assalamu Alaikum Waraghmatulaahi Wabarakatu.

I greet you with the universal greeting of peace.

Reminders are good for the soul. Islam is more than a religion. It is a way of life.

It is also a life long journey and really so very misunderstood.

No! I do not want to kill you and your entire family. I do not have a bomb under my hijab and I don’t have any space for  weapons of mass destruction at home. You are more likely to find Mercedes-Benz spare parts in my garage and quite a few unused cook books in my kitchen. World domination is not my goal!

The actual goal is living this life in such a manner that I hold the world in my hands and not in my heart because soon I will leave it. When I leave it I will move on to my next life where I will meet with My LORD and give an account of my conduct here.

Being Muslim; I have discovered is an every day job that includes constant introspection, reviewing my intention behind every action from one prayer to the next. We have five per day. We have a code of conduct. I am not here to have all my whims and fancies catered to. I am here to use every gift afforded to me in a manner that will be pleasing to Allah SWT.

So as a Muslimah in the process of building my faith here are the pillars that serves as my support structure for me (and all other Muslims) to build our faith on and in so doing become more consious of the Allah that created us.

  1. My declaration of faith.
  2. To Perform the five daily obligatory prayers
  3. To pay Zakat
  4. To fast the obligatory fast of Ramadan
  5. To perform Hajj

5-Pillars

My declaration of Faith: I bear witness that there is no God worthy of worship but Allah and that Mugamad SWT is the messenger of Allah. This means that I accept Allah as my Lord and I live the life that he gave me according to HIS rules. In order for me to do this I need to accept and  follow the example set by the Messenger of Allah. I have to strive daily to emulate the character of our beloved Prophet SWT. For any declaration to have meaning and substance it needs to be accompanied by action. This means that a Muslim needs to live this declaration and the other four pillars in their everyday life.

To Perform the five daily obligatory prayers: It has been ordained by Allah  that as members of the Ummah (nation) of Mugamad SWT all Muslims are to perform our five daily prayers. This is not negotiable. If I claim to be a worshipper of Allah, and I want to communicate with Him, I have to submit to his will and perform my prayers, when Allah sais (at the specified times for these five prayers) and how Allah sais (in the specified manner of praying with specified invocations). The five daily prayers is a means for a worshipper to make direct contact with Allah SWT. It is a means for us  to connect with, remember, glorify, praise Allah SWT, to ask Him for our needs and to build our faith.

To pay Zakat: Zakat is an obligatory payment that becomes due annually on certain kinds of property, wealth and money or personal income. This payment will be given to those in need and according to many sources is used as a means to purify ones wealth. It’s not negotiable and there are strict rules applied in the calculations of Zakat. This also only applies to wealth attained by permissible means.

To fast the obligatory fast of Ramadan: This is obligatory upon every Muslim male and female that is of age and physically able to do so that we may attain consciousness of our Lord. “Oh you who have believed, fasting is prescribed to you as it was to those before you so that you may attain Taqwa (God-consciousness) ” Surah Al Baqarah verse 183. If you are conscious of your Creator watching you, you would think twice now wouldn’t you?!

To perform Hajj: It is compulsory on every Muslim  to at least once in their life complete this holy journey should they have the  physical and financial means.This journey happens at a specified time of the year within the month of Dhul Hijjah and has specified rights and rituals that the pilgrims must perform.

I was born into the faith of Islam but it has become my chosen way of life.It is always good to go back to basics and remind yourself of  what is needed to lay a firm foundation. As son of man we are ever so forgetful and really very unmindful of the favors bestowed upon us. The purpose of this post was to provide a little bit of insight but it is always recommended to verify information with a qualified scholar.

Shukran for reading, until next time!

 

 

One thought on “Back to basics

Leave a Reply

