Its all about the Grace

Assalamu Alaikum Waraghmatulaahi Wabarakatu

I greet you with the universal greeting of peace

I find myself in the same place. I think if you have a passion for something it will always come up. We all have a purpose and when we don’t live it ; it will forever be lurking in the back of your mind reminding you that things are not as it is meant to be. It was inevitable that I would return to blogging and my vision for blogging is still the same. In my opinion it is a POWERFUL TOOL and should be used for a BIGGER PURPOSE than a creative outlet where I can send  pretty posts into the blogosphere.

I am passionate about women and children. I look at my life and see how blessed I am. I always ask what makes me deserving of Allah’s grace when there is so many people SUFFERING?! While I am going about my life someone somewhere is in the fight of their life, struggling to survive on the brink of giving up. “If everyone help their neighbour who would need help?” It is because of this that I with the help of Candice and David over at Invisible CT will once again be embarking on a drive to assist the Saartjie Baartman Center and I would like to appeal for assistance.

During 2014 we embarked on a toiletry drive for the Saartjie Baartman Center a one-stop centre for women and children who are survivors of abuse. Our drive was a great success due to the generous support we received from sponsors and the Cape Town blogging community. We hope the 2015 drive will be just as successful. You can see read all about the 2014 initiative here.

The Saartjie Baartman Center offers temporary shelter and safety to women and children who find themselves in need. Here is a list of services offered:

  • A 24-hour emergency shelter (safe accommodation)
  • Short and medium term residential care
  • Childcare services
  • Counselling, mental health support, legal and economic empowerment services
  • Children’s counselling
  • Research in gender-based violence
  • Job Skills training
  • Legal advice

Our vision is to collect basic but essential items needed such as:

  • Deodarant
  • Sanitry towels
  • Toothpaste
  • Tooth brushes
  • Soap
  • Lotions or creams
  • Shampoo and Conditioner
  • Baby toiletries
  • Disposable nappies
  • Non perishables

The drive to collect the above mentioned items will run from the 23rd July until the 13th of August. Handover will be arranged for the 15th August (Womens month). Should you wish to donate you may  contact me (Rashieda)  on 082 752 0051 to arrange a drop off of your contribution at 78 Main Road, Wynberg at your convenience. Alternatively you can use the above number to arrange a pick up as well. Alternatively you can contact Candice 081 380 2879 to make the necessary arrangement. All numbers are whatss app friendly.

269c9027edb50145eb2003a91738a7f4Please support generously. Shukran in andvance and shukran for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

